Boating & PWC Rules

Rules and procedures for Additional Personal Watercraft (PWC) Tie-ups at the Reserve at Holy Cross specifically may be found here on our website.  

The Reserve does not dictate any boating regulations.  The information below is provided from DNR as a courtesy.

Personal Watercraft                                                                           


As of October 1, 2010, anyone under the age of 16, operating a motorized vessel 11 feet in length or greater WITHOUT a valid boating safety certificate, must be under the supervision of an individual 18 years of age or older who possesses a valid boating safety certificate or an individual born before July 1, 1972. If an individual under the age of 16 is operating a motorized vessel LESS than 11 feet in length, a person of any age possessing a valid certificate of boating safety can provide supervision.

Maryland Basic Boating Course

There are three methods in which to obtain a Maryland Basic Boating Safety Certificate.

I. Classroom

The Maryland Basic Boating Course is taught by trained instructors and must be a minimum of 8 hours in length. Students must attend all classroom sessions and achieve a score of 80% on the final exam in order to pass. Some agencies require that youngsters under a certain age attend with a participating adult. Most of the classroom classes will require registration. Please call the numbers listed with the courses for the specific information. 

II. On-Line

The Maryland Basic Boating Course is now available on-line. Study at home, on your own schedule, and at your own pace. When you pass the on-line exam by scoring 80% or greater, you will immediately be able to print out a temporary certificate that is valid for 30 days. You will receive your Maryland Basic Boating Safety Education Certificate in the mail within 5 – 7 business days.

III. Equivalency Exam

The Safety Education Section suggests that boaters attend a Maryland Basic Boating Class (remember, the law specifies that anyone born on or after July 1, 1972, must have a Certificate of Boating Safety Education in order to operate a mechanically propelled vessel on Maryland waters). However, due to certain circumstances, some people are unable to attend all sessions of the eight-hour course. In order to facilitate the availability of the course, the Maryland Natural Resources Police Safety Education Section has created the Maryland Basic Boating Equivalency Examination. Boaters who are unable to attend the class, and are in need of a Certificate of Boating Safety Education, may obtain a copy of the Boat Maryland textbook, the textbook used in all boating safety classes, at one of the locations listed below. After studying the material contained in the textbook, contact the one of the test sites marked with an asterisk, to schedule a date and time to take the exam. The exam consists of 50 multiple-choice questions designed to measure comprehension in regard to information contained in the textbook. A score of 80% is required to pass the examination. Failure to pass the examination after two attempts will require a student to attend a Boating Safety Education Section class in order obtain the Certificate of Boating Safety Education.

Equivalency Exam Listing